Home > Uncategorized > Back

Back

Well, I decided to come back to FFXIV.  It’s been a while and I’ve been pretty busy with work so I don’t know how much time I can play.  Also the wife is pregnant.  I’m sure that will eat up some time.

After reactivating my subscription, the Mog House says “You have no available characters”.  I’m fairly certain that Toefer Theangry was deleted.  It’s only been 3+ years since I last logged in.  A shame.  I laughed a little about the password security message I saw.  I’m sure no one accessed my account so I’m going to keep the same password.  I did register for a one-time use password though to add security.

I did a search on Lodestone to find if any of my old friends are playing.  There is only one idiot I found in all the worlds named Keceltes.  I guess I’ll create a character on Hyperion.  I also found Tyrni I think also on Hyperion.  At least it’s the same name I found before in an earlier post.  I will assume it is the same person even though I never verified it was the same Tyrni from FFXI.

I managed to find the FFXIV Client online and downloaded it.  Updating only took about an hour to download and patch 10 GBs of data.  I’m sure the computer I bought three years ago for the first launch of FFXIV is still good, so I set all the graphics settings to High Desktop.  Unfortunately, it looks like there is a data center maintenance today so I won’t be able to login until 03:00 AM.  Hopefully I’ll be asleep by then, but you never know.  At least I didn’t have to buy the game again.

I’m not sure why Square decided to split up the worlds into groups of data centers.  Even after you pick a data center, you still have to pick a world.  And players across different worlds cannot interact with one another.  So that part doesn’t make much sense to me.  Well, we’ll see what happens when I log in the first time.

I talked to Chipya earlier in the week.  He mentioned that leveling a character to 50 only takes a month.  I’m not sure if I’ll play enough during a month to get to level 50, but that is far faster than playing three years ago.  I’m sure it will take me a couple months to get to 50.  Maybe I’ll work on some nifty crafting.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Kevin
    January 22, 2014 at 7:55 am

    One idiot named Keceltes …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

